Barbizon, Painters' Village

Around the year 1820, Edmée and François Ganne set up a grocer's shop in the Hamlet of Barbizon. In 1827, Jean-Baptist Camille Corot discovered the village, paving the way for other painters to come here, including Théodore Rousseau and Jean-Francois Millet.

To discover : 

  • The musée des peintres de Barizon settled in two historic places : the auberge Ganne and the Theodore Rousseau's house-studio
  • The musee Jean-François Millet, painter's house and leader of the Barbizon school 
Quick Response Code