Vaugouard....a long story !!!!
The Vaugouard name originates from a stream, the Gouard, that crosses the Domaine. And the locality named “Val de Gouard”, with time became, Vaugouard.
The Château was built around 1750 by Colonel de Salis Samade, the last Commander of the Swiss Regiment of Salis Samade Grisois. The Swiss Regiments were in charge of protecting the King of France and played an important role during the French Revolution. Among others, the Salis Samade Regiment was charged with the protection of the Bastille in 1789.
Towards 1789, Colonel de Salis Samade gave the property to his sister and then to his nephew, Baron Henri de Triqueti. Triqueti, initially a student of Girodet, was later named the “Sculptor of Princes”. He was commissioned to create the bronze doors of the Madeleine Church in Paris.
Close to the King’s family, Triqueti yielded the Vaugouard property to the Duke of Orléans, eldest son of King Louis Philippe 1st in around 1835 to become a famous hunting residence.
The Domaine de Vaugouard offers all the refinement of a 4-Star Hotel. Discover this exceptional environment with its quality, wooded and landscaped 18-hole Golf Course, scattered with ornamental lakes.
The lounges, seminar center, swimming pool, sauna and fitness center are built around this luxurious green setting. The refined cuisine will allow you to forget daily stress, whether at the brasserie at lunchtime or the gastronomic restaurant in the evening. The Domaine also has a tennis court, bar and a petanque ground.
Domaine's key points
- 11 rooms at the château
- 31 rooms in the outbuildings
- Gastronomic restaurant
- Golf course 18 holes
- Fitness room
- Tennis court
- TV room with pool table
- Bowling ground
- Free Internet WIFI
- Car park . Disable access